Wood… wood… wood?

I have done a bit of woodworking in the past but I wanted to explore the materiality of wood in a new way. A friend found a chunk of oak in Queen’s Park and he took it home for me. Marveled by the beauty of the rings, I leveled it then used a wire brush to raise the grain. I began printing the rings by hand onto newsprint.

I decided to push the project towards sculpture. What products do we manufacture from wood? Paper, cardboard, plywood, particle board, veneer…? Is it possible for these materials to imitate their parent?

3 Comments

Filed under Other artworks

3 responses to “Wood… wood… wood?

  1. These images are great! Love the idea and can’t wait to see more!

  2. Darn I remembered loving this and what hoping to leave a second comment on my return/relove but I didn’t leave one in the first place.

  3. I would love to use this print on the cover of my poetry collection (been fighting with other stock images, and nothing matches the quality of this). Would you mind if I did?

    I really want to release in the new year, so if you could email me (nathantdeanwriter@gmail.com) with permission before then that would be great. I know this is short notice, and christmas and everything. But… thank you.

Leave a Reply

